Scary times

So after shielding away for 6 months it appears that within 2 weeks of trying to ease back into the new normal we already have a bug in the house…

After being told that Charlie had been very close to tears all day during his session at nursery when I went to pick him up it had progressed into stomach pains and nausea by bed time. We have been up twice already with him since then. I would hate to be in Jon’s shoes right now as he is trying to calm us both. My anxiety through the roof that something is worse than it appears to be… again as my therapist says “hearing hooves on the ground and thinking zebras before horses.” Our little man has had very very few instances of sickness or any other type of stomach issue and this is killing me to hear him crying for us and be in discomfort.

How could he have picked up a bug! I don’t understand it? We have been so careful and I must now battle with every part of anxiety riddled mind to contain all the what ifs and maybes, to only deal with the present and knowledge that this too shall pass. Trying to have brief moments where I can let the ripe tide of emotions take me, I acknowledge them and then try so hard to get it together and ground myself so that the little man doesn’t sense my nerves. I wish so much right now that Charlie’s mama was one that when he felt poorly could be calm and systematic as opposed to one who will always go worst case scenario and then sit and stew in trepidation waiting for proof that I haven’t been crazy all along. I feel so stupid writing this over a tummy ache but we have never really dealt with it before (lucky I know as he is nearly 4.) and any parent hates to see their child in pain, panic or discomfort. I just want him to be safe and happy.

Leave a comment